Call: 01206 302964 / 07946 671823

See what our visitors say about us

We have some great testimonials and we endeavour to make every visitors experience happy and fulfilling. 

We are always keen to learn what you liked and are happy to receive any ideas for improvements so please leave a review at the bottom of the page.

Fully exceeded our expectations!

We had an amazing stay at the Teal! The accommodation was spacious, clean and very well thought out given the small size - we never felt cooped up. We received a lovely hamper upon our arrival, which include local apple juice (delicious!), hot chocolate and a big bag of crisps (handy for our movie time). The Teal has a lovely terrace, where we sat for dinner and took on the beautiful sunset. When it got a little chilly, we were able to go inside, light the log fire and open the patio doors wide to continue gazing. We took a lovely walk to Wivenhoe, although please be warned that the walk is closer to 2 hours than the 1 hour stated in the handbook. We had lunch at the recommended Black Buoy pub and it did not disappoint. You’re also able to cook yourself, as they provide you with an induction hob, so you don’t have to leave the Teal if you don’t want to. Overall, this was an amazing trip and after a year of not being able to travel, it fully exceeded our expectations!

April 16, 2021 by Khadija

REALLY something special!

I loved my stay here. The hut itself is beautifully designed, comfortable and has everything you need. The setting itself is REALLY something special, the photos don't do it justice! Views to the vineyard from bed and the sun drenched terrace in the early evening sun, were my favourite things about this spot. Lots of beautiful walks nearby and great access to public transport mean exploring the surrounding areas is easy. However, the hut is so lovely, you probably won't want to leave!

April 21, 2021 by Megan

Best sleep in over a year!

I haven't slept so well in over a year! A socially distanced, charming stay with plenty of wildlife on the doorstep and lovely walks throughout the area.

April 23, 2021 by Laura

Would suit anyone looking for a relaxing break!

This was lovely. So peaceful and very relaxing. No interruptions, the owners were chatty when passing. Lovely location and would suit anyone who needs a break or to reset themselves. Would even suit individuals who need peace and quiet to complete assignments.

April 29, 2021 by Catherine

Takes you to a place like no other!

Myself and my boyfriend had the most amazing stay at the Wigeon shepherds hut. This has been the first holiday where we’ve felt completely relaxed, and it was the perfect way to shut off from our busy lives. The shepherds hut was stunning in every way possible, and the bed was incredibly comfy. I loved the detailing with the fairy lights and the decor was beautiful. To wake up to the sounds of bird song, and the view of the lake was something else. It takes you to a place like no other, and when packing up our things to go home, we were both incredibly sad. We’re already looking at when we can stay at the Wigeon again!

April 28, 2021, by Holly

Everything we needed to chill and unwind

Three night stay, Friday to Monday. Visited Wigeon for some relaxation away from work etc. The hut is in a great spot with a view across the lake to the fields beyond. Birds flying past, sheep in the distance, and ducks everywhere! Host was very friendly and I am sure would have been able to sort any issues if their were any. The hut was cosy, and the log burner was excellent in the evening. Everything that we needed to chill and unwind. Excellent trip.

April 4, 2021 by Joshua

Cosy and Comfortable in a great location!

Lovely comfortable cabin in a fantastic location. From dodging free range chickens and ducks when transporting our luggage in a wheelbarrow, to BBQ’ing sausages and keeping cosy with the log burner, we couldn’t have asked for more from our stay! We had lovely local walks both coastal and country but our evening stroll right outside the cabin watching the starling murmurations topped it all. Highly recommended, lovely friendly hosts, we will definitely be returning!

Nov 2, 2020 by Matt Sinnott

Cosy stay in beautiful surroundings

Me and my partner stayed for two nights in Teal - a beautifully kept hideaway with all the basics provided. We loved the peaceful surroundings, looking out onto the fields with a coffee in bed. There are great walks nearby - as with all other reviewers we walked to Wivenhoe - The Greyhound pub do amazing sandwiches! We ended the mini-holiday with a trip to the seaside at Clacton on our way home! Brilliant!

Oct 7, 2020 by Emma Price

Beautiful location, lovely cosy hut

Secluded location on a beautiful site with a lovely lake, the picturesque old tide mill and ducks, geese and chickens roaming about. The hut is well equipped and finished to a high standard. Nice walk from the hut to Wivenhoe, which in itself is a nice quaint town. The strawberry farm on site no longer exists, though the listing still says that it does and we weren’t provided with the home laid eggs and fresh bread mentioned in the listing. Small quibbles though, a really nice place overall.

Aug 2, 2020 by Andrew Rowson

A delightful weekend with everything you need

The Shepherds hide are brilliantly done. Not only do they look amazing but they are extremely cosy, comfortable and come with everything you need to have the perfect weekend and excuse to not do very much (but there is lots of walking and outdoor activities too). We felt like we had been away for a week! Thank you to Polly who was lovely.

Jan 13, 2020 by Louisa Barron

Leave a Review

{{errors.first('rs-c5a8-7ec6-46ed', 'rs-c5a8-5229-f449')}}
{{errors.first('rs-c5a8-7ec6-0c1a', 'rs-c5a8-5229-f449')}}
{{errors.first('rs-c5a8-7ec6-453b', 'rs-c5a8-5229-f449')}}

Message Sent. Thank you for your review.

 

This product has been added to your cart

CHECKOUT